Lima, not the capital of Peru

The past few days have been hot, dry, and dusty, but luckily there has been plenty of cattle grazing in the area, so it almost always smells like cow poop too!

On the road again

Lima, MT is another small town wonderfully welcoming to hikers. The Great Divide bike route also goes through here, so they see quite a few cyclists as well. I met a bike packer about my age here, and have seen some other thru hikers too!

Getting here primarily involved walking dirt roads and traversing grassy hills. While the terrain may not have been the most exciting, I’ve really enjoyed myself the past couple days. My knee has been getting much better and I have been able to hike a little bit faster and put in some longer days. I have also gotten to enjoy some great conversation with hikers headed the other direction. One day, I stopped for probably half an hour with another solo female who was headed north. Her trail name was Gigi and she just cracked me up! A new goal of mine is to take pictures of/with the people I meet. I always leave these sort of interactions wishing I had!

I ended up taking a cutoff into town on some dirt roads so I wouldn’t have to deal with the hassle of finding a ride at the highway, so I got to town a little earlier than I had planned. Luckily almost all of my re-supplies in Wyoming are “on trail”— Wyoming will be a lot more road walking, but it sure is nice not to have to deal with the stress of finding rides! The hiking part of this trail is easy, it’s the town stops that are hard! -Nic

One thought on “Lima, not the capital of Peru

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started