A Walk in Glacier National Park

To anyone who had been anxiously waiting the return of my blog, I apologize for the delay; all these off days in between hiking really distracted from my blogging. The updates I had planned on providing at the end of last fall took a back seat when I transitioned out of the thru hiker schedule back into a more place based living situation. Still, I’ve been very lucky to be able to keep the adventure alive in many different ways, skiing, mountain biking, rafting and now finishing the last/first 100 miles of the CDT.

Glacier on Merritt peak

A little less than a year after I ended my thru hike at the Mexico border I returned to Montana to hike the first 100 miles of trail through Glacier National park. The CDT was closed last summer through the park out of concerns for the pandemic, so I started my hike at Marias pass at the southern end of the park. Jessie and Anna, who started the hike with me last summer, are still living in Northern Montana, so not only did I get to hike, but I also got to spend some time with two of my best friends. It’s such a joy to be with them, and they were kind enough to pick me up/ drop me off for my hike this time too.

I had forgotten it was Labor day weekend when I planned this trip, so I didn’t end up with the exact permit for which I had hoped. The busy last weekend of the summer season meant many of the campsites were already full. I had some long hiking days, which I assured the ranger issuing my permit I was confident I could handle, but in reality I was nervous to hike such long days after a summer without hiking hardly at all. I assume the warnings printed on the permit are automatically assigned by the system when certain criteria are met, they made me laugh looking at my own permit.

I hiked for five days, spending four nights in the park. The campsites, including the backcountry ones, were all developed to some degree, including pit toilets and a bear hang, as well as designated food prep areas, fire rings, and even benches to sit and cook on. This felt luxurious compared to some of the backpacking I’d done last summer. Plus, every site included other backpackers, always great company!

I had a 30 mile day on my permit, which I got up early for, nervous about my hiking stamina which had not been tested since ski season. I was moving by 7 am, but I was surprised to find the hiking much easier than I anticipated, and made it to camp no problem! After that I still had two 25 mile days, and by the end of the trip I was reminded of the fatigue and foot pain which I had some how grown resilient to last summer.

Thinking back to my hike last summer, I often divide it up into two different sections in my head. The first two months through Montana, Idaho and Wyoming, and the last two and a half months through Colorado and New Mexico. For the first two months, I didn’t see anyone I knew and saw far fewer town stops and people on trail. For the latter half of the journey I was visited on trail by friends, and family, I spent more time with other hikers on trail, and I was able to take time off trail to be with my loved ones when we needed it. This last section felt like an experience all in its own, a lot more social, a lot different than what I experienced last summer. I think I saw more NOBO thru hikers finishing their hikes in these days than I saw total CDT hikers all of last summer. This is reportedly the busiest year the CDT has ever seen, and I believe it seeing the number of through hikers in and around Glacier. It was fun to chat with other hikers and hear stories from the trail this year. I also met a lot of other interesting hikers/backpackers enjoying the park. It was a great experience to get to share the joy of such a beautiful place with a variety of people and still enjoy some time alone while hiking for the long days. Mostly, however, this felt a lot more like backpacking and less like thru hiking; a different set of goals and a different mindset.

My hair was shorter and my clothes were cleaner when I started last summer

Finishing up this small section of trail felt a lot less sentimental than it might have. I don’t foresee the same descent into sadness that I experienced last summer at the end of my hike. Instead I’m looking forward to a few months in between jobs and lots of time with my friends and family. I’m so thankful for the people in my life who make these sort of things possible, and I promise to keep everyone updated on the next big adventure when it comes.

Thanks for reading! -Nic

4 thoughts on “A Walk in Glacier National Park

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started